Get 20% Off LOBA Floor Care Products!

Footprints Floors near you.

Why Do My Hardwood Floors Look Dull?


How Do You Fix a Dull Floor?

Call To Schedule or submit your information below

Call Us

Submit your basic information below, and we will contact you to schedule your free in-home estimate!

Footprints Floors Flooring Estimate

Call To Schedule FREE In-Home Estimate

Call Us

Give Dull Floors New Life

With Top Industry Professionals


All flooring requires maintenance to continue looking nice, especially hardwood floors. But even if you take great care of your hardwood floors, they may lose their sheen over time. Whether your hardwood floors are starting to look dull or you’re just looking for tips to prevent them from becoming dull, you’ve come to the right place.

Protect and Maintain

So how do you fix a dull floor? Preventing damage is the first step. Here are some ideas for protecting your hardwood floors:

  • Protect them from sunlight. Hardwood floors are sensitive to sunlight. Areas where your floors are exposed to sun will likely fade over time. You can avoid some of this impact with help from throw rugs, blinds or curtains. For an even longer–term solution, consider strategically planting trees or bushes to give your home a bit more shade. You could also install UV–resistant or tinted windows.
  • Remove shoes. High heels are particularly good at scratching through hardwood finishes. Pet nails can also be damaging, so keep pet nails trimmed to protect your floors.
  • Clean the right way. First, sweep or vacuum your floors before applying a wet mop to remove any grit. Then make sure you're using the right cleaner. Products you use on other floorings may strip your floors of their finishes and harm the wood rather than clean it. Finally, don't overdo it on the cleaner—using too much cleaner, even if it's meant for hardwood floors, can make them look dull.

With careful maintenance and attention, a little can go a long way in preserving the beauty of your hardwood flooring.

How do you fix a dull floor - get beautiful floors like in this kitchen with Footprints Floors.

Refinish and Repair


Unfortunately, protection and maintenance aren't always the answer to how do you fix a dull floor. Even the best–kept floors will likely need special attention over time. When cleaning no longer gets the job done, your floors may need to be refinished or repaired.

Refinish

Refinishing helps give your floors a new life and goes a long way to prevent damage that is far more expensive to repair. The process involves sanding away imperfections and applying a new finish. Although it sounds simple, many things can go wrong during refinishing. You may sand one part of the floor too much, damaging it and making it look uneven, or improperly apply a finish.

Repair

More extensive damage to floors, such as deep gouges, cannot simply be refinished. Instead, they may require either repair or replacement.

How Do You Fix a Dull Floor? Footprints Floors Can Help!

If you notice visible wear, surface damage, or scratches on your floors, Footprints Floors is here to help get your floors looking brand new again. Footprints Floors has years of experience in all kinds of wood flooring and is committed to providing you with the best, most efficient service. This includes special equipment that minimizes the amount of dust in your home and reduces the amount of time it takes before you can return to full activity in your home.

For floors that need more than just refinishing, you can rely on the experts of Footprints Floors for that, too. In many cases, we can target our repairs or replacements to specific areas and then refinish your flooring to look unified and brand new.

If you've moved into an old home with antique hardwood floors, they may need more than just repairs. Thankfully, the professionals at Footprints Floors are also experts in restoration. Restoration requires particular expertise and is a longer process than refinishing or repairing. We will only recommend a complete restoration if it is the best option for your floors.

So, how do you fix a dull floor? Call the experts! Whatever your floors need, you can trust Footprints Floors to provide top–quality results at affordable prices. Contact us today for a free estimate.

Flooring refinishing near you - Footprints Floors.

Great Floors & Great Impressions Are What We Are All About!

Free Estimate
Old floor restoration with Footprints Floors.

Schedule

Your Floor Restoration From Footprints Floors Today!


Well-maintained and polished hardwood floors are a stunning feature in any home. The floors of the home also see the most wear, so it's natural for hardwood to start to show scuffs and wear over time. This doesn't mean you need to shell out a fortune to replace them, though. Most hardwood floors can be restored for a fraction of the cost—and look even better than before!

If you've been researching hardwood flooring restoration, Footprints Floors provides all the refinishing surfaces you need to make that hardwood shine again! From setup to cleanup, we'll take care of the entire process so you don't have to handle the hassle of having to rent or buy special equipment.

Contact us today to learn more about our hardwood flooring restoration services!

Get a Free Estimate Today!

Get Started Call Us

What Our Customers Say

From our initial inquiry to a beautifully finished floor, the guys at Footprint Floors were top notch. They were extremely helpful, knowledgeable, timely, and just incredibly pleasant to work with. Our new floor is GORGEOUS and we couldn't be more pleased with the final product at a very fair price! They are craftsmen of the highest degree - we will be back for more!
Sherri Buete 05/20/24 — google
Great experience. Floors look amazing!
Anthony DeMercado 05/20/24 — google
In repairing and refinishing our kitchen hardwood floor, Footprints stayed focused on getting it right and we are delighted with the end result.
Hugh Appling 05/19/24 — google
We were recently shopping around to have our hardwood floors refinished and after several in home estimates, we decided to go with Footprints Floors. They were very knowledgeable and extremely professional. They were also able to accommodate and work around our schedule. I am very pleased with the final product. If you need your floors redone, don't hesitate to call them.
P T 05/19/24 — google
My project went smoothly, David was very thorough and came through on his work window. I was very happy to work with someone who kept his word and delivered on his promises. Work was professional and done in a timely manner, will use Footprints floors for my future flooring. Highly recommend them
Roger Carey 05/18/24 — google
We had a small repair job that turned into a nightmare. Many thanks to Peter and crew for perservering and getting the job completed. The finished product was excellent. I would recommend Footprints Floors to anyone.
William Jones 05/18/24 — google
My floor is stunning. We had the entire first floor of the house refinished. We went with Mike because of his responsiveness and the products he uses. It did take longer than anticipated, but that was after finding some rough spots at the final inspection. I’d rather it take longer and be done right than be left disappointed. And we certainly aren’t disappointed! Thanks Mike and Mike!
Carla Giacobone 05/18/24 — google
It’s a great job 👏 I love it and crew was quick Clint worked hard to get material to completion 🙏
Connie Wehrle 05/18/24 — google
Great to work with. Joseph is honest and we highly recommended them!
Paula Loscher 05/17/24 — google
I was very happy with the entire process. From getting measurements to ordering the flooring to people being on time to start the work day. Happy with the workmanship. Very detailed which I really like. Brandon came to the work location days before project started. Helped moved the flooring from garage to house because delivery person doesn’t not bring flooring into the house. At post inspection, he was very thorough and answered any questions we had. Made sure we were satisfied with the job. We would highly recommend him and his crew. Definitely a 5 star job.
Carl Henning 05/17/24 — google
Josh, Saul, and Miguel and the crew were absolutely amazing to work with. They were efficient, hard working, conscientious, and did a fantastic job on all my floors. Highly recommend this group!
Beth Bowie 05/17/24 — google
Noel repaired a gouged spot in our hardwood floors today. He was fast, efficient, and did a terrific job. I am very happy with the end result. A+++ workmanship & service!
M Peller 05/17/24 — google
If you are considering Footprint Flooring please know you are in the best of hands. My complicated marble tile floor repair turned out seamless and beautiful. Mitch takes the pain and worry out of doing a tedious tile project. His team is talented, informative, respectful, and mindful of already occupied space where tip toeing around the area is required. Not only is his work of the highest quality but he is an excellent communicator along the process, which is 50% of doing a project so that the details are effectively carried out both logistically and aesthetically. Mitch and team take great care personally of the project with ownership, which is difficult to find in today's industry. Simply the best.
Jennifer S Cross 05/17/24 — google
Oliver Hellested -- Owner of Footprints Floors -- did ALL of my floors in Providence and they look STUNNING! (The wall-to-wall carpeting had to go.) His crew was GREAT and Oliver was on site to check in on the progress both days. I recently moved to Providence from Boston and did major renovations in Brookline and Boston, so I know what contractors are like and Footprints Floors was TOP NOTCH! Hire Oliver and Footprints Floors -- you won't be disappointed!
Ann Lammers 05/17/24 — google
Best! very thorough highly recommend.
Carol Less 05/17/24 — google
The crew did an excellent job! I came home and couldn't even tell anyone had been working in the house. Completely dust free!
jeff phillips 05/17/24 — google
Imagine buying a nearly $1M house and the discovering when moving in that there are big scratches in the wood flooring from furniture being moved out and dull shadows where large area rugs had been. Called Footprints hoping for expert flooring advice and options to restore the wood finish. Mark carefully evaluated the problems and explained that due to the ridges in the hand scraped flooring, that screening or buffing were not options since the flooring was not smooth and flat. Even though Footprints could not provide restoration services, Mark spent several minutes with me discussing DYI cleaning and other possible options that might improve the appearance of the flooring. Very friendly, professional, and considerate - rare qualities in service providers. Would not hesitate to work with Mark and Footprints flooring.
Douglas Cook 05/16/24 — google
We had a great experience. The installers were fantastic hard workers. Did a great job.it took us a long time To get the materials and they were available right away the following week to do the install.
Jennifer Stubbs 05/16/24 — google
We used footprints for a whole home install of luxury vinyl plank flooring and baseboards. We had some repairs that needed to be done over a year later due to a manufacturers defect. They arrived promptly, did a great job and cleaned up. A great experience and we highly recommend them!! Thank you!
Derrick Potter 05/16/24 — google
I recently had the pleasure of working with Footprints Floors Denver on a flooring project in my home, and I couldn't be happier with the results. The team provided excellent costumer service from my initial inquiry to the completion of the project. Everyone was responsive, courteous and attentive to my needs. The project was completed on schedule which I greately appreciated. I would certainly recommend Footprint Floors for all the flooring needs.
Ella S 05/16/24 — google

Read More Reviews

Room
Visualizer